Saw Blade Upgrade

After an unfortunate incident with the miter saw and cutting some ash branch slices, I’ve been shopping for new blades for both my miter saw and tablesaw. Years ago, I bought a small jobsite tablesaw (Ridgid R4516) which has been a great little saw for me: 10 inches and 15 amps has considerable power for a small saw; but, it’s direct drive and hard starting, and needs a lot of practice to get good cuts. Unfortunately, Ridgid doesn’t sell this exact model anymore, but you can still find reconditioned versions. Likewise, without a lot of mass in the saw itself, it tends to vibrate; so, a thin kerf blade has been necessary.

Fortunately, the Samurai Carpenter posted this video recently, and helped in my replacement blade searach. I’ll definitely be adding the 24T 10″ Diablo blade to my shopping list.

Two years ago, I bought the 50 tooth 10″Diablo combination blade, and it’s been a fantastic workhorse on my little saw. The kerf is only 0.098″ and the thin width has helped with the low power of my jobsite saw. To be honest, I was so impressed with the first few cuts, I never thought twice about using a combination blade for everything. My only complaint is that it can leave some red paint on the first few cuts.

IMG_0889

But, I think it’s time to upgrade to a dedicated rip blade, and I’ll be upgrading to an 80 tooth 10″ Diablo for the miter saw. I’ll probably keep the combination blade around for cross-cutting on the table saw for the time being.

 

Thoughts, comments or experiences? Share them in the comments!

 

 

 

One thought on “Saw Blade Upgrade

  1. I have had mixed results with Diablo. In the miter saw they tend to be fine. In the tablesaw however I’ve had two of the blades have teeth break off on me. Scared the living shit out of me. Lately I’ve been using a cheap 24 tooth blade thin kerf I bought at Lowe’s for about $15. I have an old craftsman 2hp saw contractor type. I’ve been using the blade for six months and it’s still cutting great. I make a lot of cutting boards so I do a lot of ripping and cross cutting. I built a sled for cross cutting and think that is helping the blade stay sharp. I’m not sure if the blade will work the same in your saw. Forest blades are great but pricey when my cheapo does die I will go to the forest blade but at this rate it could be a year.

    Good luck!
    Vinny

    Like

Leave a Reply

